Daily Archives: February 4, 2012

Apple pie in an apple

 

I found a new fun recipe the other day on pinterest out of all places. So I decided to share my journey of trying to make this wonderful treat. I have made it twice now and it’s getting better and better! Now I said that I found this recipe on Pinterest, the bad thing about it was there wasn’t very good instructions so I took the basic idea of the Apple Pie in an Apple and sort of made it up as I went, so here’s my cooking adventure!

First you need to get the right ingredients! Sugar, flour, brown sugar, cinnamon, lime juice, a medium apple, and pie crust.

image

Now we need to get started! Take the apple and cut off the top and set aside, you will still you it later.

image

Since the top is cut  off you can now start digging out the flesh of the apple. I found it easier to dig out the core part of the apple first then go from the outside in. Don’t forget to leave about fourth inch of the flesh from the peel, you need this to form the side or you pie. With the flesh that is dug out of the apple dice up and start preparing your filling. This is when you will you the top that you cut off earlier, peel the top and dice it up to add into the filling.

image

Once all your apples are diced, start adding you ingredients. 1 tbsp sugar, 1 tbsp flour and that’s all I know exact amounts for, next I add a couple pinches of brown sugar (helps make it juicy), sprinkle in some cinnamon, and drip in some lime juice. I also go ahead and add some brown sugar into the apple “shell” with a few drops of lime juice.

image

Pack all you filling into the apple shell, when I say pack I mean pack!

image

Now It’s time for the crust, I cheated and just bought Pillsbury pre-made crust. Makes is easier for me since usually I only make on at a time because Derek doesn’t always want them.  But I just rub some milk on the crust to help make it moist and sprinkle some sugar on top. You also have to make some kind of vent holes, I made a cute design.

image

Cook at 450* for about 10 minute, until golden brown….. then YUMMY!!! Its finished!

image

The next few steps are my favorite!! Find your best friend and share! Austin came down to visit Derek and I this weekend so we shared it he wasn’t a big apple fan but he said he enjoyed it!!!!

image

Even better add whipped cream or ice cream!!!

image

Then its finished!

image

 

I hope you enjoy this recipe as well as I do. It’s so much fun and really easy, it doesn’t take a lot of time which I like since when you have he urge to have apple pie  you don’t always have time to make a hole pie. So this is what I came up with, it also help for me since it’s just Derek and I we sometimes have too many treats going on at the same time so it’s not always a good idea to make a hole pie when it might not get eaten in time. I hope you all enjoy cooking sweet treats like I do!!!!

Categories: Food, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | 3 Comments

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.